|Bent Door Cafe
Originally built as the Kozy Kottages Kamp in the 1940's, the property
included cabins, a cafe and service station.
The cafe and service station were destroyed by fire in late in 1947,
but the cabin business continued under the name of Adrian Court.
After World War II, the site of the former cafe and service station
was sold to a former employee who wanted to build a unique cafe to draw
Route 66 travelers.
Bent Door Cafe (Tommy's Cafe)
U.S. Highway 66
He built the cafe around the slanted panels of a military surplus aircraft
control tower, requiring a door likewise slanted, or "bent", to match the
walls and the Bent Door Cafe opened for business.
From the 1950's the cafe was leased to several different operators,
one who changed the name to Tommy's Cafe. In the late 1960's, Interstate
40 bypassed the Town of Adrian, choking off Route 66 traffic and customers.
The former Bent Door Cafe closed in 1970.